Subankar Dey, Saili Rane winners in Kalimpong badminton tourney

Mukesh Sharma

Kalimpong,26 June

The Finals of Kalimpong Invitational Badminton Tournament concluded at St Augustine School Badminton hall today.The tournament was organized by Kalimpong Badminton Association with 130 players participating from different states of India along with Bhutan and Nepal.

The finals were played in 8 different category where men's singles winner was Subhankar Dey, India’s 4th Rank player who defeated Sidharth Thakur, the 6th rank player. Both are from Maharashrastra .Subhankar was awarded prize money of Rs 1 Lakh while Thakur got Rs 50,000

Similarly the 19th Rank Indian women's player Saili Rane from Maharashtra won the women’s singles tournament defeating Megha Morchana Boro from Assam,winning the winner’s cheque of Rs 50,000.Boro got Rs 25000 as prize money.

 In the mens’doubles, the pair of Aushutosh Tiwari and Sourav Chatterjee from Kolkata defeated Biswajit Bardolai and Subha Dey from Assam, lifting the 50 thousand cash prize,while the runner up got Rs 30000

In the women’s doubles Team Nagaland became both champion and runnerup as Uma Tamang and Prathantha Thapa defeated Bendarnarro Jamir and Imilz Ronla.The winners got Rs 30,000 cash award and the runners-up Rs 20,000.

S Lama and DS Kunwar of Gangtok defeated Naresh M Pradhan and Anil Gajmer of Darjeeling pairs in 50+ doubles, Pranob Das and Chandan Pramanir from Kolkata defeated Bastab Neogi and GS Gora from Assam in 40+ doubles,Amrita Das from Darjeeling defeated Pritha Das from Howrah in Girls U-17 singles and Zhakuo Seyie of Nagaland defeated Alphons Gajmer from Jorethang,Sikkim in the U-17 boys tournament.

All the four 50+ , 40+ and U-17 boys and Girls winners were awarded Rs 20 thousand as cash prize, while the runners-up got Rs 10 thousand. GTA councillors Nima Tamang, Sunil Pradhan, Kazim Tshering Bhutia along with Capt P M Pradhan and Ajay Singh were present at the finals.

The Kalimpong Badminton Association team has thanked the sponsor of the tournament.The ranked players have hailed the organisers for organizing such top-prize money tournaments in Kalimpong.

Share your views...

0 Respones to "Subankar Dey, Saili Rane winners in Kalimpong badminton tourney"

Post a Comment


Copyright © 2013 Kalimpong News Express Powered by Blogger Blog Designed by Mukesh